Working mum quits corporate job to follow her dream at age 50

Abha Malpani Naismith
2 min readNov 24, 2021

--

I had some interesting responses to my last post on Substack that probed whether anyone had a plan b. It seems like it is something many think of, especially those of us in full-time corporate jobs.

Finding the headspace to work on a plan b, and then being brave enough to go with it, seem to be most the most common conundrums.

I’ve written here before how it’s never a good time to do anything. With kids, and work, and errands and life in general, our bandwidth is pretty limited.

And then there is that comfort zone. That cozy place where mediocrity thrives and growth dies while we float in complacency. The status quo that feels so hard to disrupt, especially as we get older.

I must say it’s so easy to stay in your comfort zone as a mum of young children. A lot of pressure is relieved when you know your salary will come in every month, your health insurance is taken care of, and you get paid holidays.

However, we know that great things never came from comfort zones.

It is between this comfort zone and desire to follow our dreams that complacency hovers. I fear that one day I will wake up at the age of 60 and wonder, why didn’t I chase my dreams when I was younger? You always regret what you didn’t do.

Photo courtesy: www.business-standard.com

The recent news of Falguni Nayar, founder of Indian online beauty firm Nykaa, who started her business with no experience and became a self-made billionaire, is a story of great courage in ditching the comfort zone at the age of 50 and taking a leap of faith.

You can read more about her story, and how it is a reminder that age is really just a number, on my Substack here.

If you like what you read, please share, subscribe, and join the community!

--

--

Abha Malpani Naismith

Communications professional. Digital strategist. Writer. Mum. AI enthusiast. Newsletter for working mums.