Invaluable Lessons I Learned From A Free Online Challenge

Abha Malpani Naismith
2 min readJun 17, 2021

--

I’m at that stage in my life where I am eager to learn new things; to grow and challenge myself. Maybe to even step out of my comfort zone again.

It has been a LONG time since I’ve felt this way. And the feeling is invigorating.

I give credit to the project of publishing my book to get me excited about ‘doing’ again. Doing new things, learning, creating, putting things out there.

Hungry to find something I want to spend my time on, I signed up to Jess Glazer’s recent Idea2Income challenge and it was full of SO many ‘aha!’ moments.

With the excessive amount of information we consume every day, it’s hard to find something that sticks. Since I can’t stop thinking about these nuggets of wisdom, I feel compelled to share them:

You have to know where you are, before you decide where you are going: I never think about where I am now, I always think about where I want to be. Just like when looking on a map, how can I know how to get where I want to be, if I don’t know where I am now!? This struck like me lightening.

Your beliefs are the only limits: The only thing stopping you from achieving what you want are your beliefs. “I’m not good enough to…”, “I’m not qualified to…”, “I can’t afford to…”, “No one will listen to what I have to say…” These are not facts. They are your own limiting beliefs. The sooner you recognize them, the faster you can move forward.

You will never be ready: There is never a good time to step out of your comfort zone. It will always be uncomfortable and you will never be ready for it. I always say to myself, when my kids grow up a bit, I will do it — but that could take another 15 years, so yeah, if you really want it, you just have to get on with it.

Nothing happens through osmosis, you have to take action: This struck me again as another bolt of lightning. I am queen of consuming ‘knowledge’. I read online, I read case-studies, I enroll in courses and training programmes and absorb, absorb, absorb. But then, obviously, nothing comes of it. You’ve got to take action. Any action!

There is no such thing as perfection: When taking action, there is no such thing as doing it perfectly. In fact, Jess encourages “messy action”. Messy action is better than no action, and you learn from it.

So, what am I going to do now? Haha, I have no idea but I’ve taken some action by putting this out there, so let’s see what comes next!

--

--

Abha Malpani Naismith

Communications professional. Digital strategist. Writer. Mum. AI enthusiast. Newsletter for working mums.