Do less to be more

Abha Malpani Naismith
5 min readJun 7, 2024

The best advice that has taken me too long to follow.

This post is inspired by friend, mum of 3 and personal trainer / nutrition coach Jennifer. She is older (you won’t believe it!) and in the best shape of her life mentally, physically and spiritually.

I had a call with her recently and asked her what I needed to do to grow older, better.

And she said: You need to do less, Abha.

And it all came together.

Me and Jennifer, too long ago!

Ever since I went full time on my “side-hustle” where I help working mums and female entrepreneurs use Ai tools to work better and faster, subconsciously I have been saying ‘no’ to anything that is outside that purpose.

On saying no to non-aligned work opportunities…

It’s not easy to say no to work and opportunities, especially when you are starting out.

Especially in the beginning, it feels like you’re missing out on both growth and income.

We come from a culture and upbringing where you are told that you need to do more to be more, and to work more to make more. That mindset is hard to shift.

My first big “NO”

--

--

Abha Malpani Naismith

Communications professional. Digital strategist. Writer. Mum. AI enthusiast. Newsletter for working mums.